BIOGRAPHY

BIOGRAPHY

STRACHO TEMELKOVSKI- multi-instrumentalist
(Guitar bass, mandole, viola, percussion, beatbox)

Multi-instrumentalist, improviser and beatboxer, Stracho Temelkovski was born in Grenoble, France on June 27, 1978 of Macedonian heritage. At a young age he taught himself to play first electric guitar, then bass, percussion, sampling and programming. He was fascinated by the improvisations of jazz soloists from Balkan brass bands. He founded his first group when he was 15, with Philippe et Pierre Bonnet mixed jazz-funk and dub with distinctive Eastern European sounds.

In 2003, Stracho Temelkovski replaced American jazz bassist Steve Swallow on a project with Antonio Placer the Galician musician and poet. It was with Antonio Placer that he developed the instrumental versatility that was to become his true signature.

Other collaborations followed including the French-Algerian band Gnawa Diffusion – who invited him on their second album – and MIG, whose album Dhikrayat he co-composed and whom he accompanied on stage. In 2015, Stracho Temelkovski met the Cuban pianist Omar Sosa during a concert near Grenoble. They decided to work together on a few concerts as a duo. One of the concerts was recorded and in July 2020 they released a digital EP, Live in Seynod.

Stracho Temelkovski has composed and performed music for various French contemporary dance choreographers – including François Veyrunes (company 47.49) et Sylvère Lamotte (Lamento company). He also collaborates with the pianist Jean-Marie Machado (for the Danzas Orchestra), the storytellers Louis Soret, Melisdjane Sezer and Nathalie Tomas, and with Joce Mienniel for his creation Babel bringing together six traditional musicians from Syria, Italy, Pakistan, Macedonia, Belgium and France.

He is also very involved in the cultural networks and outreach projects in his area. In addition to his work with local schools and neighbourhoods, he has offered workshops in prisons for several years.

These enriching collaborations and experiences have allowed Stracho Temelkovski to invent a real musical alchemy, a bridge between learned music and traditional and popular music. It is this alchemy that we can hear on The Sound Braḱa, released in October 2020.

Discography:
Live in Seynod (with Omar Sosa) : digital EP released on July 17th, 2020
The Sound Braḱa : album released on October 30th, 2020
Make Dunia : EP released on March 26th, 2021

STRACHO TEMELKOVSKI
multi-instrumentalist

(Guitar bass, mandole, viola, percussion, beatbox)

Multi-instrumentalist, improviser and beatboxer, Stracho Temelkovski was born in Grenoble, France on June 27, 1978 of Macedonian heritage. At a young age he taught himself to play first electric guitar, then bass, percussion, sampling and programming. He was fascinated by the improvisations of jazz soloists from Balkan brass bands.

Read more

He founded his first group when he was 15, with Philippe et Pierre Bonnet mixed jazz-funk and dub with distinctive Eastern European sounds.

In 2003, Stracho Temelkovski replaced American jazz bassist Steve Swallow on a project with Antonio Placer the Galician musician and poet. It was with Antonio Placer that he developed the instrumental versatility that was to become his true signature.

Other collaborations followed including the French-Algerian band Gnawa Diffusion – who invited him on their second album – and MIG, whose album Dhikrayat he co-composed and whom he accompanied on stage. In 2015, Stracho Temelkovski met the Cuban pianist Omar Sosa during a concert near Grenoble. They decided to work together on a few concerts as a duo. One of the concerts was recorded and in July 2020 they released a digital EP, Live in Seynod.

Stracho Temelkovski has composed and performed music for various French contemporary dance choreographers – including François Veyrunes (company 47.49) et Sylvère Lamotte (Lamento company). He also collaborates with the pianist Jean-Marie Machado (for the Danzas Orchestra), the storytellers Louis Soret, Melisdjane Sezer and Nathalie Tomas, and with Joce Mienniel for his creation Babel bringing together six traditional musicians from Syria, Italy, Pakistan, Macedonia, Belgium and France.

He is also very involved in the cultural networks and outreach projects in his area. In addition to his work with local schools and neighbourhoods, he has offered workshops in prisons for several years.

These enriching collaborations and experiences have allowed Stracho Temelkovski to invent a real musical alchemy, a bridge between learned music and traditional and popular music. It is this alchemy that we can hear on The Sound Braḱa, released in October 2020.

Discography:
Live in Seynod (with Omar Sosa) : digital EP released on July 17th, 2020
The Sound Braḱa : album released on October 30th, 2020
Make Dunia : EP released on March 26th, 2021

PROJECT

THE SOUND BRAḰA

A journey to the borders of jazz, world music and improvisation

Stracho Temelkovski’s first album transpires jazz, the Balkans, the Mediterranean and the East, near and far, or the suburbs of Buenos Aires. The Sound Braḱa is the quintessence of these influences, the fruit of a musical universe inspired by a boundless curiosity and destined to find its way into jazz.

The album is the result of a real maturing process taking its current form during a residency at the Lyon Opera Underground in May 2018 where Stracho invited a band of virtuoso “brothers of sound” to create together a unique repertoire.

Stracho Temelkovski bass, mandole, viola, electric guitar, percussions, beatbox, sound design Jean-François Baëz accordion, Jean-Charles Richard saxophones, Ashraf Sharif Khan sitar Jean-Marie Machado piano, Antony Gatta percussions + Guests

Read more

“A very gypsy way of vibrating to the rhythm of brass bands and the lyricism of oriental melodies.”
fff – Télérama

“An attractive first instrumental album… alternating tonicity and lyricism, whirlwinds and serenity.”
Le Monde

“We love this oriental jazz without borders, with bewitching sounds and asymmetrical rhythms, overflowing with vitality and generosity.”
FIP

« Revelation ! » Jazz Magazine

“A astonishing project, a genuine haven of love in this damn year.”
Citizen Jazz

PROJECT

THE AFRO-BALKAN EXPERIENCE

Omar Sosa & Stracho Temelkovski duo

From Cuba to Africa, via Macedonia, the coming together of pianist Omar Sosa and multi-instrumentalist Stracho Temelkovski offers us a new continent of sound.

Through their musical itineraries, a new repertoire emerges, where traditional music resonates and combines with jazz. The piano blends with the bass, beatbox and mandole, resulting in a contemporary and polychrome musical palette with a variety of subtle and innovative scales.

Taking its source in their respective spiritualities, based both on tradition and on artistic freedom, the richness of the timbres and sounds that the two artists offer us translates into a vibrant, generous dialogue. We can discover this rich and fascinating musical universe on the 5 track digital EP Live in Seynod, recorded on January 9th, 2020 and released on July 17th, 2020.

Read more

“A moment of relaxation, of real conversation consistent with what they create and share on stage”
Move on culture

“Two virtuoso musicians for an original repertoire”
Voltbass

From Cuba to Africa, via Macedonia, the coming together of pianist Omar Sosa and multi-instrumentalist Stracho Temelkovski offers us a new continent of sound.

Read more

Through their musical itineraries, a new repertoire emerges, where traditional music resonates and combines with jazz. The piano blends with the bass, beatbox and mandole, resulting in a contemporary and polychrome musical palette with a variety of subtle and innovative scales.

Taking its source in their respective spiritualities, based both on tradition and on artistic freedom, the richness of the timbres and sounds that the two artists offer us translates into a vibrant, generous dialogue. We can discover this rich and fascinating musical universe on the 5 track digital EP Live in Seynod, recorded on January 9th, 2020 and released on July 17th, 2020.

“A moment of relaxation, of real conversation consistent with what they create and share on stage”
Move on culture

“Two virtuoso musicians for an original repertoire”
Voltbass

ON TOUR

CONCERTS

22.07.21 – Nantes (44) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (quartet)
Festival Aux heures d’été

29-30-31.07.21 – Lyon (69) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (trio)
Festival du Péristyle – Opéra de Lyon

07.08.21 – Bourg en Bresse (01) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (quartet)
Festival A la folie…pas du tout
Monastère royal de Brou

28.08.21 – Barraux (38) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (quartet)
Festival Jazz à Barraux

17.09.21 – La Pierre (38) – FR
Stracho Temelkovski solo
Les Rendez-vous au Manoir

06.11.21 – Juan les Pins (06) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (trio)
Jammin’Juan

25.11.21 – Clermont-Ferrand (63) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (trio)
Forum Jazz – JAZZ(s)RA

Newletter

Newsletter

To hear more about concerts and latest news from Stracho Temelkovski, please subscribe to his newsletter

BIOGRAPHIE

BIOGRAPHIE

STRACHO TEMELKOVSKI- multi-instrumentiste
(Basse, mandole, viola, percussions, beatbox)

Multi-instrumentiste, improvisateur et beatboxer, Stracho Temelkovski est né le 27 juin 1978 à Grenoble (Isère). D’origine macédonienne, il est très tôt passionné par la pratique instrumentale (la guitare électrique d’abord, puis la basse, les percussions, le sampling et la programmation), et fasciné par les improvisations des solistes de jazz oriental des fanfares balkaniques. Il fonde à 15 ans, avec Philippe et Pierre Bonnet, son premier groupe, Kassinga, dont la musique entraînante mêle alors jazz-funk et sonorités dub, teintées d’une touche orientale.

En 2003, il remplace au pied levé le bassiste de jazz américain Steve Swallow, sur un projet avec le musicien et poète Antonio Placer. Pendant que Swallow lui transmet sa connaissance de la basse et du rôle mélodique de celle-ci dans le jazz, c’est avec Antonio Placer qu’il développe la polyvalence instrumentale qui va devenir sa véritable signature.

Très friand des collaborations, il a également travaillé avec Gnawa Diffusion – qui l’invite sur son deuxième album – et MIG, dont il co-compose l’album Dhikrayat, et qu’il accompagne sur scène. Fin 2015, Stracho Temelkovski rencontre le pianiste cubain Omar Sosa lors d’un concert près de Grenoble. De cet échange naît une forte complicité musicale, qui aboutit à une collaboration durable avec plusieurs concerts en duo. Le troisième de ces concerts, enregistré, donne alors lieu à la sortie en juillet 2020 d’un EP digital, Live in Seynod.

Résolu à créer des transversales avec d’autres arts, Stracho Temelkovski s’associe avec différents chorégraphes – François Veyrunes (Cie 47.49) et Sylvère Lamotte (Cie Lamento) – pour qui il compose et interprète la musique de leurs spectacles. Il collabore également avec le pianiste Jean-Marie Machado (pour l’Orchestre Danzas notamment), les conteurs Louis Soret, Melisdjane Sezer et Nathalie Tomas, ou encore Joce Mienniel pour sa création Babel réunissant six musiciens traditionnels venant de Syrie, d’Italie, du Pakistan, de Macédoine, de Belgique et de France.

Très impliqué dans le tissu associatif local, il s’est découvert un intérêt fort pour la médiation culturelle. Outre ses interventions auprès des scolaires et en quartiers, Stracho Temelkovski a proposé pendant plusieurs années des ateliers en milieu carcéral.

Ces fortes expériences ont ainsi permis à Stracho Temelkovski d’offrir, en octobre 2020, The Sound Braḱa, un album à la musique unique, qui magnifie autant les patrimoines issus des cultures populaires orales que les cultures savantes.

Discographie :
Live in Seynod (en duo avec Omar Sosa) : EP digital sorti le 17 juillet 2020
The Sound Braḱa : album sorti le 30 octobre 2020
Make Dunia : EP digital sorti le 26 mars 2021

STRACHO TEMELKOVSKI
multi-instrumentiste

(Basse, mandole, viola, percussions, beatbox)

Multi-instrumentiste, improvisateur et beatboxer, Stracho Temelkovski est né le 27 juin 1978 à Grenoble (Isère). D’origine macédonienne, il est très tôt passionné par la pratique instrumentale (la guitare électrique d’abord, puis la basse, les percussions, le sampling et la programmation), et fasciné par les improvisations des solistes de jazz oriental des fanfares balkaniques.

Lire la suite

Il fonde à 15 ans, avec Philippe et Pierre Bonnet, son premier groupe, Kassinga, dont la musique entraînante mêle alors jazz-funk et sonorités dub, teintées d’une touche orientale.

En 2003, il remplace au pied levé le bassiste de jazz américain Steve Swallow, sur un projet avec le musicien et poète Antonio Placer. Pendant que Swallow lui transmet sa connaissance de la basse et du rôle mélodique de celle-ci dans le jazz, c’est avec Antonio Placer qu’il développe la polyvalence instrumentale qui va devenir sa véritable signature.

Très friand des collaborations, il a également travaillé avec Gnawa Diffusion – qui l’invite sur son deuxième album – et MIG, dont il co-compose l’album Dhikrayat, et qu’il accompagne sur scène. Fin 2015, Stracho Temelkovski rencontre le pianiste cubain Omar Sosa lors d’un concert près de Grenoble. De cet échange naît une forte complicité musicale, qui aboutit à une collaboration durable avec plusieurs concerts en duo. Le troisième de ces concerts, enregistré, donne alors lieu à la sortie en juillet 2020 d’un EP digital, Live in Seynod.

Résolu à créer des transversales avec d’autres arts, Stracho Temelkovski s’associe avec différents chorégraphes – François Veyrunes (Cie 47.49) et Sylvère Lamotte (Cie Lamento) – pour qui il compose et interprète la musique de leurs spectacles. Il collabore également avec le pianiste Jean-Marie Machado (pour l’Orchestre Danzas notamment), les conteurs Louis Soret, Melisdjane Sezer et Nathalie Tomas, ou encore Joce Mienniel pour sa création Babel réunissant six musiciens traditionnels venant de Syrie, d’Italie, du Pakistan, de Macédoine, de Belgique et de France.

Très impliqué dans le tissu associatif local, il s’est découvert un intérêt fort pour la médiation culturelle. Outre ses interventions auprès des scolaires et en quartiers, Stracho Temelkovski a proposé pendant plusieurs années des ateliers en milieu carcéral.

Ces fortes expériences ont ainsi permis à Stracho Temelkovski d’offrir, en octobre 2020, The Sound Braḱa, un album à la musique unique, qui magnifie autant les patrimoines issus des cultures populaires orales que les cultures savantes.

Discographie :
Live in Seynod (en duo avec Omar Sosa) : EP digital sorti le 17 juillet 2020
The Sound Braḱa : album sorti le 30 octobre 2020
Make Dunia : EP digital sorti le 26 mars 2021

PROJET

THE SOUND BRAḰA

Un voyage aux confins du jazz, des musiques improvisées et du monde

Stracho Temelkovski publie un premier album qui exhale l’esprit libre du jazz, le parfum des Balkans, de la Méditerranée et de l’Orient – Proche et Extrême – ou encore les faubourgs de Buenos Aires. The Sound Braḱa est la quintessence de ces influences, le fruit d’un univers musical inspiré par une curiosité sans limite et voué à se frayer un chemin dans le jazz.

Enregistré au studio La Buissonne, ce disque est l’aboutissement d’un véritable processus de maturation ; il a pris sa forme actuelle lors d’une résidence de création à l’Opéra Underground de Lyon en mai 2018 à laquelle Stracho a convié ses « frères de son », tous virtuoses et complices, pour créer ensemble un répertoire unique.

Stracho Temelkovski basse, mandole, viola, guitare électrique, percussions, beatbox, sound design Jean-François Baëz accordéon, Jean-Charles Richard saxophones, Ashraf Sharif Khan sitar  Jean-Marie Machado piano, Antony Gatta percussions + Invités

Lire la suite

« Une façon très tzigane de vibrer au rythme des fanfares et au lyrisme des mélismes orientaux. »
fff – Télérama

« Un premier album instrumental séduisant … alternant tonus et lyrisme, tourbillons et sérénité. »
Le Monde

« On aime ce jazz oriental sans frontières aux sons envoûtants et aux rythmes asymétriques, débordant de vitalité et de générosité. »
FIP

« Révélation ! » Jazz Magazine

« Un projet époustouflant, un véritable havre d’amour en cette foutue année. »
Citizen Jazz

PROJET

THE AFRO-BALKAN EXPERIENCE

Omar Sosa & Stracho Temelkovski duo

De Cuba à l’Afrique, en passant par les Balkans, c’est un nouveau continent sonore que nous offre la rencontre du pianiste Omar Sosa et du multi-instrumentiste Stracho Temelkovski.

À travers leurs itinéraires musicaux naît un répertoire inédit, où les musiques traditionnelles résonnent et se combinent aux accents jazz. Le piano se mêle à la basse, au beatbox et à la mandole ; en ressort alors une palette musicale contemporaine et polychrome, une variété de gammes subtiles et innovantes.

Prenant sa source dans leurs spiritualités respectives, autant dans la tradition que dans la liberté artistique, la richesse des timbres et des sons que nous proposent les deux artistes se traduit par un dialogue vibrant et généreux. C’est cet univers aussi riche que passionnant que l’on découvre, en 5 pièces, dans l’EP digital Live in Seynod, enregistré le 9 janvier 2020 lors d’un concert à l’auditorium de Seynod, et sorti le 17 juillet 2020.

Lire la suite

« Un moment de décontraction, de conversation véritable en cohérence avec ce qu’ils créent et partagent sur scène »
Move on culture

« Deux musiciens virtuoses pour un répertoire inédit »
Voltbass

De Cuba à l’Afrique, en passant par les Balkans, c’est un nouveau continent sonore que nous offre la rencontre du pianiste Omar Sosa et du multi-instrumentiste Stracho Temelkovski.

Lire la suite

À travers leurs itinéraires musicaux naît un répertoire inédit, où les musiques traditionnelles résonnent et se combinent aux accents jazz. Le piano se mêle à la basse, au beatbox et à la mandole ; en ressort alors une palette musicale contemporaine et polychrome, une variété de gammes subtiles et innovantes.

Prenant sa source dans leurs spiritualités respectives, autant dans la tradition que dans la liberté artistique, la richesse des timbres et des sons que nous proposent les deux artistes se traduit par un dialogue vibrant et généreux. C’est cet univers aussi riche que passionnant que l’on découvre, en 5 pièces, dans l’EP digital Live in Seynod, enregistré le 9 janvier 2020 lors d’un concert à l’auditorium de Seynod, et sorti le 17 juillet 2020.

« Un moment de décontraction, de conversation véritable en cohérence avec ce qu’ils créent et partagent sur scène »
Move on culture

« Deux musiciens virtuoses pour un répertoire inédit »
Voltbass

TOURNÉE

CONCERTS

31.05.21 – LIVESTREAM Facebook / YouTube
The Sound Braḱa (trio)
depuis Le Bal Blomet à 20H

17.06.21 – Grenoble (18) – FR
Student Groove Orchestra meets Stracho Temelkovski
Festival Magicbus

01.07.21 – Brive (17) – FR
Omar Sosa & Stracho Temelkovski
Festival Bleu en Hiver

22.07.21 – Nantes (44) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (quartet)
Festival Aux heures d’été

07.08.21 – Bourg en Bresse (01) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (quartet)
Festival A la folie…pas du tout

28.08.21 – Barraux (38) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (quartet)
Festival Jazz à Barraux

06.11.21 – Juan les Pins (06) – FR
The Sound Braḱa (trio)
Jammin’Juan

Newsletter

Newsletter

Pour recevoir toutes les actualités de Stracho Temelkovski, inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter